Saturday, 27 February 2010

STEAK 002: Order Now

STEAK 002 is out now! You can grab the vinyl from the following fine purveyors of music:



Mp3s released on Monday!

Poirier - Red Bull Acamady Radio Mix live from London

Our good friend Poirier has just recorded a new mix for the Red Bull Music Acadamy.

It's a great mix chock full of exclusive dancehall specials & remixes, funky bashment and karnival & tropical bass riddims..... including the Tigerflower track by myself and Atki2 that has just come out on Idle Hands. Other highlights include Danny Scrilla's wonderful '12102009', Sticky's remix of Poirier & Face-T's 'Enemies' and the Mungo's Hi Fi remix of Poirier & YT's 'Let Them Hate'.

This mix is right up our street, and hopefully yours too!

Check the link below to listen & get the full tracklist. Well worth your time!

Poirier - Red Bull Acadamy Radio live from London

Thursday, 25 February 2010

Venue Magazine article on Steak 002 & Ruffnek Diskotek

Bristol & Bath's Venue magazine have written some excellent press in this weeks issue about both Ruffnek Diskotek this Saturday, and the imminent release of Steak house 002

And remember the Grevious Angel remix of Tigris Riddim by Monkey Steak , is still available for a free download here!

Wednesday, 24 February 2010

Steak 002 release party @ Ruffnek Diskotek

This Saturday see's the first Ruffnek Diskotek of 2010!

We are putting on a Steak House release party to celebrate the imminent arrival of Steak 002 on March 8th!

If you come down to Cosies, our favourite bass cave in Bristol, you'll be able check out tracks from the forthcoming Monkey Steak EP, hear what else they've been cooking up in their lab, plus shake your rump to Dub Boy & Stylatron.

If you like dancehall, soca, garage, dubstep and general karnival vibes, and you're in Bristol this Saturday, this is you.................

Monday, 8 February 2010

Mix Monday: Rory Power - Fiya Pon Dem!

Just picked up this lively party mix from Bristol's Audio Discharge crew and its great. If you need something to melt the snow then turn this up and point your speakers out the front door. Close your eyes and pretend its summer. Bashy!


1. ms dynamite - bad gyal
2. lady chann & sticky - you eye too fast
3. lil silva feat maxwell d - blackberry hype (sticky remix)
4. sticky feat natalie storm - look pon me (jumeirah riddim)
5. bubblez - loser
6. baobinga & id - man down
7. major lazer - pon de floor (r1 ryders remix)
8. lil silva - funky flex vs pulse
9. r1 ryders - rubberband (funkitek mix)
10. stush - we nuh run (sirens riddim)
11. marcus visionary - in the vip
12. rusko - cockney thug (buraka som sistema remix)
13. octa push - deixa
14. hakan lidbo - yellow fever (genuine guy remix)
15. baobinga & id - tongue riddim
16. octa push - laika likes it
17. hatcha - bashment
18. brackles - lizards
19. menta - sounds of the future
20. youngstar - true vip
21. b-15 project - girls like us

Fiya Pon Dem! by Rory_Audio_Discharge

MC Zulu & Dizzee Rascal @ The Big Day Out

Brap Brap!

MC Zulu, who features on the forthcoming Steak House 002 release, is filmed here at the Big Day Out in Perth alongside none other than Dizzee Rascal.

Great to see our musical family in such esteemed company!

Friday, 5 February 2010

Timberlee - Fashionista

Wicked new track from one of my favourite female dancehall deejays, the fiesty Timberlee....

This one's on an excellent Ward 21 riddim, that is as heavy and forward thinking as you would expect from them.

You can grab the track here.

And also worth checking out is the electro remix. It's a bit cheesy, but will send a dancefloor crazy given the right crowd. You can download the Ben J.A.H. remix of Fashionista here.

Thursday, 4 February 2010

STEAK 002 Available at Redeye Records now.

The lovely folk at Redeye Records win the prize for being the first to list STEAK 002 for Pre-Order. You can grab the vinyl from their website now for only a shade over a fiver. Get involved!

STEAK 002 at Redeye

Tuesday, 2 February 2010

New Mr Benn mix..... Play it again Mr Benn

Our good friend Mr Benn has just done a new mix which he recorded for Passion Radio Bristol.

On grey, cold Febuary days, happy sunshine mixes like this which are full of top quality reggae, hip hop & dancehall mashups & blends are just what the doctor ordered!

1. How High - Mr Blennd

2. Get That Monkey - Ms Thing

3. Get That Money (instrumental) - Ms Thing / The Jump (accapella) Mr Benn & Souls Liberation

4. Jmoney Bomb - J Star

5. Dont Stop (Dreadsquad blend) - Fatman Scoop, Lil Jon & Elephant Man

6. Chok There - Apache Indian

7. Real McKoy - Rankin Dan

8. Barb Wire - Sono Rhizmo

9. Jamaican Girls - Terry Lynn

10. Ante Kokana - Mr Blennd

11. Ante Sensi - Mr Blennd

12. So Many Girls - The Nextmen ft Dynamite MC

13. No no no mama - Nice Up

14. Riddim Killa (wrongtom remix) - Rodney P

15. Dirt on ya dancehall - Infinite Soul

STEAK 002: Released 8th March

STEAK 002: Monkey Steak & MC Zulu is coming out on 12" vinyl and digital on March 8th. You can listen to the tunes here:

Steak House Sound Cloud

It'll be available in all the usual places put feel free to email us for Stockist enquiries: Steakhouserecords @

We've been receiving great reviews for the record including two in this month's DJ Mag! You can read them below:

Sinden - DJ Mag

Markle - DJ Mag


Oli Warwick - IDJ

Monday, 1 February 2010

Flower Of Life

I just had to blog this!

G Rina, is a singer / dj / producer based in Tokyo. She has recently completed a side project called Mashed Pieces, whereby she has a recorded a series of excellent vocals over a selection of contemporary dubstep & house beats.

As well as Dub Boy & Atki2's 'Tigerflower', she has recorded songs using beats from Martyn, Joker, Pinch amongst others, plus Steak House's own Mr Gasparov (which is a great rework of his 1975 track released on Steak 001)!

Check her myspace to hear more!

And whilst we're on the subject of Tigerflower, there's been a great response to both the track and the whole Idle Hands release in the last few weeks.

Boomkat have been very positive about the release describing our efforts as "delicious tropical house fusions"

And Onethirtybpm have given us glowing reviews in their monthly dubstep reviews saying Tigerflower is "fucking phenomenal" and the 12" is "absolute fucking dynamite".

If you havn't got it already, the 12" and mp3's are available at all the usual online retailers, but if you can, you should purchase it from the wonderful Rooted Records, and help support the team behind such a great shop and wicked labels such as Punch Drunk, Idle Hands & Unearthed